Noni Lazaga

lacasanegrasoto

Noni Lazaga

THE SPATIAL EVENTS OF NONI LAZAGA

Capi Corrales Rodrigañez

  1. Madrid

«I have the feeling that all that we thought was solid is dissolving into the air, and that is what I was thinking about as I was working on these pieces» (Noni Lazaga, 2013).

According to the Collins English Dictionary, an event is anything that takes place, a happening. When in the presence of Noni Lazaga’s pieces, something certainly happens in the space around us. When I started working on this text, I pinned photographs of Lazaga’s pieces to the wall, by the blackboard, at my office in the Mathematics Department of Universidad Complutense (Madrid). Next to them I wrote the words SAN DIEGO in chalk. The rest of the board kept being used for other matters, and every one who dropped by the office during those months, most of them mathematicians, could see both the photographs and…

Ver la entrada original 2.228 palabras más

Deja un comentario